Sometimes I Just Get Pissed Off

No. This is not a rant about my kids. Trust me. My week has had its ups and downs, but I have no complaints. I love my life.

Sometimes I just get pissed off. I get angry about things around me. Mostly things I can’t control. Sometimes it just feels like the world is filled up with a bunch of fucked up.

All the stuff that gets me riled up is most evident online. It saturates the news feeds. It hides in the veiled racism. It screams from the open misogyny. It blares from the blatant self righteousness that seems to ooze out of every corner of the internet. It makes me want to scream.

But, I won’t.

Today I’ve decided that I’m going to do something else instead. I’m going to light a candle. I am not a religious person. But, I believe in the human spirit. And, I believe in the positive effect of meditation, even if it’s just for me.

Today I light my candle for so many things:

For anyone who has a good heart, and is earnestly trying to be a servant of the public, I light this candle for you.

For anyone who has ever been a victim of the abuse of power, I light this candle for you.

For anyone who has ever been mistreated because of their race (whatever race), I light this candle for you.

For anyone who has been mistreated because of their sexual orientation, I light this candle for you.

For anyone who is told that they are “less than” because they are a woman, you are not. And, I light this candle for you.

For anyone who has been tormented because of their beliefs that bring no harm to others, I light this candle for you.

For anyone who has lost their lives or loved ones trying to fight for a better world for their children, I light this candle for you.

For those who are hardened with self righteousness, may your heart soften instead with love. I light this candle for you.

For those who would bring harm to others because they are “different”, may your heart fill with peace and acceptance. I light this candle for you.

For those who are soured with prejudice, may your heart sweeten instead with love. I light this candle for you.

For those who burn with hate, may your heart cool with overwhelming peace. I light this candle for you.

For everyone being a better version of themselves.

For peace.

For love.

For hope.

May this world be a better place for our children.

May we be better people for our children.

IMG_8102

Leave a Reply

